North East Culture Partnership Board Members

Local authority members:

  • Darlington - Councillor Nick Wallis, Portfolio holder for Leisure and Local Environment
  • Durham -  Councillor Simon Henig, Leader of the Council
  • Gateshead - Councillor Gary Haley, Cabinet Member, Culture, Sport and Leisure
  • Hartlepool - Councillor Marjorie James
  • Middlesbrough -  * Elected Mayor David Budd (Co-Chair)
  • Newcastle - Councillor David Stockdale, Portfolio holder for Communities and Facilities
  • North Tyneside - Councillor Eddie Darke, Cabinet Member responsible for Leisure, Culture and Tourism
  • Northumberland - Councillor Val Tyler, Policy Board Member for Infrastructure and Culture
  • Redcar and Cleveland - Councillor Chris Abbott
  • South Tyneside - Councillor Alan Kerr, Deputy Leader of the Council
  • Stockton on Tees - Councillor Ken Dixon
  • Sunderland - Councillor John Kelly, Portfolio Holder for Public Health, Wellness and Culture

Stakeholder members:

  • Professor Eric Cross, Dean of Cultural Affairs, Newcastle University
  • Richard Evans, Director, Beamish Museum
  • Louise Hunter, Director of Corporate Affairs, Northumbrian Water Ltd
  • Adam Lopardo, Director, Community Foundation, Sponsors Club
  • Keith Merrin, Director, Woodhorn Trust
  • *John Mowbray, (Co-Chair) Immediate Past President, North East Chamber of Commerce
  • Ros Rigby, Performance Programme Director, The Sage Gateshead
  • Professor Sharon Paterson, Assistant Dean for Business Engagement in the School of Arts and Media , Teesside University
  • Graeme Thompson, Dean, Sunderland University
  • Annabel Turpin, Chief Executive, ARC
  • Frank Wilson, Director, Event International Company Ltd

* Co-Chairs