North East Governance

The Association of North East Councils represents each of the 12 unitary councils in the region on issues which are mutually beneficial to them and North East communities.

Local Enterprise Partnerships

ANEC also aims to complement and support the work of both the region's Local Enterprise Partnerships (LEPs). LEPs are locally-owned partnerships between local authorities and businesses and play a central role in determining local economic priorities and undertaking activities to drive economic growth and the creation of local jobs.

There are two LEPs in the North East. The North East LEP area covers County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland and the Tees Valley LEP (Tees Valley Unlimited) area covers Middlesbrough, Darlington, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton on Tees and Hartlepool.

Combined Authorities
Combined Authorities are statutory bodies created to formalise joint working and decision-making between councils in order to accelerate economic growth. The Government has said it is keen to see Combined Authorities created to tie in with Local Enterprise Partnership areas.

There is a currently a North East Combined Authority operating in the northern area of the region. To the south of the region the five Tees Valley councils have consulted on plans to join forces in a bid to boost economic growth and job creation.

In February 2015 the proposal entered its next key phase following public consultation showing support for the concept.

The Government will now carry out its own consultation before placing an 'Order' before both Houses of Parliament. The earliest chance to have an Order approved before both Houses of Parliament is likely to be the Autumn 2015.

Councils within the combined authority areas will continue to exist in their own right delivering local services but unite as formal combined authorities when focusing on economic development, transport, infrastructure and skills.  They will also aim to unlock devolved powers and resources from Government.

Unlike most combined authorities, a Tees Valley Combined Authority would hold joint meetings with the Tees Valley Local Enterprise Partnership and its business representatives, while also sharing staff and resources.

The seven local authorities for the North East Combined Authority are: Durham County Council, Gateshead Council, Newcastle City Council, North Tyneside Council, Northumberland County Council, South Tyneside Council and Sunderland City Council.

The five local authorities for Tees Valley are: Darlington Borough Council; Hartlepool Borough Council, Middlesbrough Council, Redcar and Cleveland Council and Stockton on Tees Council.

Find out more about:
•    North East Local Enterprise Partnership
•    Tees Valley Local Enterprise Partnership
•    North East Combined Authority